Cinderella at the Ball: My Kindle Scout Experience with my Civil War time travel romance “Love Me Forever” Part 2

KS_part2_hunk_castle

I’m settling in to my Cinderella experience with my Kindle Scout Civil War time travel romance, LOVE ME FOREVER, though the fairy dust makes me sneeze and my feet hurt from the glass slippers.

I wouldn’t change it for the world, but I admit wearing my fuzzy, worn-out pink slippers when no one’s looking.

So here we are with Part 2 re: my Kindle Scout experience, featuring LOVE ME FOREVER, which was selected at the end of April. If you missed Part 1 in yesterday’s post CLICK HERE.

I took the full 30 days allotted after my campaign was over on April 27th (my book was selected 2 days later) to go over my book before handing it in for copy edits. I found minor errors—punctuation, missing words, etc. I had to re-do some paragraphs, fix transposed sentences, develop a few things, and worked on my timeline and events from 1862-63 for 100% accuracy. The m/s is 150,000 words, so you can see why it took me a month.

Soon after I received a phone call from the KS editorial staff. The editor said my m/s was “very clean and the team loves LOVE ME FOREVER, it’s solidly written, filled with intrigue, both romantic and non-romantic, and we love the story of two heroes and two heroines interconnected.”

She also said they have a Civil War buff on staff who couldn’t believe the layering and historical information being so spot on. He loves my book. Needless to say, I’m thrilled.

I got my book back from the copy editor on June 29th with suggestions from the staff (style changes, anything I missed, etc.). I then had one week to accept the changes (using Track Changes) and write anything new.

LOVE ME FOREVER went on sale August 4, 2015.  Everyone who nominated my book received a link ahead of time so they could  download their free advance copy. Unbelievable how quickly things move. Three months after the campaign ended, my Civil War time travel romance is on sale.

I received the $1,500 advance—digitally wired to my bank account. It takes a while to fill out the payee forms since you have to do one for each country, but otherwise, it’s a very smooth process.

The Kindle Press editor also indicated my book would be eligible for Amazon promotions a month or so after its release. Wow, now that is cool. I’ve been busting my butt with promo to make my book look good.

What’s next? I’m writing a sequel to LOVE ME FOREVER called LOVE ME ALWAYS. To be honest with you, I couldn’t let this family go…I have to know what happens afterward down the line, so why not follow a family through the decades who just happens to time travel? A new heroine…a sexy new hero…and a whole new time travel adventure with a twist. I’m not telling . . .but the Kindle Scout authors are putting together an anthology with first chapters from our other books. I’ve included the first chapter of LOVE ME ALWAYS. More on that later . . .

I don’t want to give anything away, so I’ll just say: “Time Travel…it’s the family business.”

Before I go, I want to say the Kindle Scout program has been an amazing Cinderella experience for me. If you’re an author and you’re wondering if you should try it, I hope my posts will help you make your decision. The Kindle Scout and Kindle Press teams are awesome…the other authors are like old friends. If you’re a reader, please nominate the books you’d love to see published. You’ll receive a free advance copy if it’s selected.

So I’ll say au revoir…auf wiedersehen…arrivederci…till tomorrow when I’ll have Part 3 for you.

And in case you’re wondering about the graphic in today’s post, the hunky guy and the luxury castle aren’t part of the deal, but hey, that’s the stuff dreams are made of…

Best,

Jina

Check back tomorrow, Thursday, September 3rd, for: Cinderella’s Happily Edit After: My Kindle Scout Experience Part 3

PS — very exciting news: Ken Burns’ Civil War has been remastered and will be shown in high definition on PBS beginning September 7-11, 2015. Be sure to tune in . . .

Love_Me_Forever_500x798

LOVE ME FOREVER

She wore gray.
He wore blue.
But their love defied the boundaries of war.
And time.

LOVE ME FOREVER is now available from Kindle Press at Amazon.com

 

Posted on September 2, 2015, in Amazon, Antietam, author, books, Civil War, e-Books, fairy tale, fairytale, Fredericksburg, historical, Ken Burns, Kindle, Kindle Press, kindle scout, KindleUnlimited, military hero, new release, rebel, romance, rose, sexy, soldier, spy, time travel, Uncategorized, writer, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

