MFRW Home for the Holidays Blog Hop: “A Soldier’s Christmas Letter”

This is a letter from Captain Mack O’Casey to his mother back in Brooklyn during World War II, and then check out the short video below to find out about the Lost Art of Monte d’Oro Rose stolen by the Nazis.

=============

Somewhere in Italy

December 25, 1943

Dear Mom,

I sure wish I was home for the holidays with you and Cort. I can see you now sitting

© Americanspirit | Dreamstime.com

© Americanspirit | Dreamstime.com

by the Christmas tree with our stockings hung over the fireplace. Three stockings with a gold star for each of us. Lex. Trace. And me. Tell my little brother Cort he’d better get through basic training and get over here. We need him. The Nazis have us pinned down. Sorry, I can’t tell you any more than that. Just know I’m thinking about you on this Christmas morning and missing you. I sure wish Pop was here. He loved a good fight and he would have whipped these Nazis good. But he died doing what God put him here on earth to do. He wouldn’t have had it any other way.

I know you’re getting teary-eyed reading this letter and I wish I were there to hold your hand. I know Lex feels the same way and so does Trace. But we all have a job to do, whether it’s Lex fighting in the South Pacific or Trace flying over France or me here in Italy. God knows where the Army will send Cort. We’re fighting for freedom and there’s nothing more important than that. But your job on the home front is important, too. Keeping up our spirits with your letters telling us the news back home and using your sugar ration stamps to make cookies for us. Just thinking that maybe next Christmas we’ll be home for the holidays is what keeps us going.

We never stop talking about home. Earlier today I was telling my sergeant, Joe Duffy, about your hand-rolled ravioli and panettone. My mouth is watering just thinking about it. Fluffy pasta pillows oozing with cheese and sauce. And so many raisins in the bread, I couldn’t count them all. The Italians here aren’t so lucky. They have little to eat and have to steal food to survive. Duffy and I shared what we had with a bunch of orphans. Poor kids almost didn’t have a Christmas with that Nazi major throwing his weight around. Someday when this war is over, I’ll tell you the whole story. Until then, Mom, I’m in good hands. You see, I discovered a man can lose his faith when he sees his men blown apart by German machine guns or freezing to death in this bitter cold, his feet so blistered he can’t walk, his spirit broken by trudging through black mud and endless rain, but then a miracle happened. I met an angel. A beautiful angel with eyes flecked with amber. And she gave me back that faith…

I’ve got to sign off now. I can’t tell you where I’m going, but don’t worry about me. I’ll be home for Christmas next year, God willing.

Your loving son,

Mack

=============

Will Captain Mack O’Casey be home for the holidays the next year? And who is this beautiful angel he met?

A Soldier’s Italian Christmas tells the story…

A Soldier’s Italian Christmas 

O’Casey Brothers in Arms 1

December 1943
Italy

He is a U.S Army captain, a battle-weary soldier who has lost his faith.
She is a nun, her life dedicated to God.
Together they are going to commit an act the civilized world will not tolerate.
They are about to fall in love.

 

A Soldier’s Italian Christmas is a holiday novella sweet romance available on Amazon Kindle

Don’t forget to go back to the MFRW main blog and keep hopping!!

Happy Holidays!

Jina

Posted on December 12, 2013, in Amazon, blog hop, Christmas, Italian, Italy, Kindle, romance, soldier, sweet romance, Uncategorized, video and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. I got very teary eyed reading this. So many young men have lost their lives fighting for our freedom.

    • I know what you mean, Sandy. I got emotional when I was writing the post. I couldn’t believe it when I found this re-enactment photo with the three stars on the stockings. During WW2, families had a star in the window for each serviceman and servicewoman in their household. I mention this in my story. Thanks for stopping by!

  2. What a great letter. I think about all the people who are away from home this holiday season protecting our country and helping other countries.

    daringzoey at yahoo.com

  3. Thanks for the excerpt from A Soldier’s Italian Christmas – it sounds like a book I would really enjoy reading. We owe all of our soldier’s our thanks and our support – especially during the Holidays when so many of them are away from family doing their jobs.

    junegirl63 at gmail dot com

    • Thank you, Maria. You’re so right–no other time of the year is more heartfelt for members of the Armed Forces than the Christmas season.

      The letter in the post is not in the book–it’s a special post I wrote for the blog hop, but all the elements I mention in the letter can be found in the story. For excerpts, check my recent posts. Thanks for stopping by!

  4. An interesting sounding book.I know I would enjoy reading it.

    • Thanks so much, Jackie! If you sighed when Rick told Ilse in “Casablanca” their problems didn’t amount to a hill of beans because there was a war to be won, you’ll love Mack and Sister Angelina. Their love story is timeless…

  5. Very emotional post, Jina. Those were dark days. My dad was there in 1943, but with the Army Air Corps, not slogging through the mud like Mack. I suspect he won’t be home for the holidays ’til ’45. 😉

  6. Wow, how interesting, Linda, that your dad was there! As you know, the Allied bombing became very intense in early 1944…yes, Mack and all our soldiers weren’t destined to return home until after the war ended in 1945. Then, I believe, they had a system for returning to the States in a certain rotation. Many soldiers weren’t home until 1946. Thanks for your kind words!!

Leave a Reply

