Elaine Gets Lucky in “Breaking the Rules”

Get Lucky with Breaking the Rules

I first met Elaine, the heroine in my erotic short story, “Breaking the Rules,” in a little coffee house in McNally’s Corner when I was passing through. She told me about the night she met the Hunter…this darkly, mysterious man who changed her life.

And how it was the luckiest night of her life.

I’ll let Elaine tell you why…

…………………….

Thanks, Jina. Hi, everyone. My name is Elaine and I used to be the girl who worked hard at her job and never got anywhere. Or with my love life. I was frustrated…really frustrated. My paycheck wasn’t getting any bigger and my libido had hit rock bottom.

Sure, I knew I was up for promotion, but I waited for my boss to give it to me. Figuring he’d see my good work, nod, and say, “Hey, Elaine, you deserve a promotion!”

Yeah, right.

Have you ever seen a rock jump up and throw itself into the pond?

I was that rock.

Set in my ways. Waiting for something to happen. Not only at work, but on the dating scene. Hank, my ex-BF, broke up with me via text message: Boring but dependable, he said, like my white cotton panties. No wonder he fell for a girl who went commando.

Then late one night in the coffee house, I got lucky.

I met the Hunter.

She smelled his scent before she saw him. Black leather soaked with a man’s sweat, emitting a muskiness with a hint of citrus. Sweet and sticky.

Elaine froze at her laptop when the hunk wearing the black leather vest whisked by her in the coffeehouse and yanked her power cord loose with his muddy boot. Her screen went darker than an ebony night and her coffee cup shimmied back and forth like a kewpie doll.

The web page disappeared like it was sucked into a black hole.

Damn him. The nerve of the man. So what if he was tall with a strong jaw and broad shoulders? He wasn’t her type. Look at him. Dark and stormy, and filled with a wild streak like the critters roaming untamed through the dense woods in these back hills.

McNally’s Corner.

A way station back in the day for trappers and settlers heading west. Population around eighteen hundred when you counted the hogs and chickens. A small town doing its best to survive the economic downturn. And barely hanging on.

Like Elaine. Living on her meager salary and peanut butter sandwiches, she’d come home to put the pieces back together after a painful breakup.

Which meant no distractions from a guy with eyes so blue he could make a girl wet her pants with a hard stare.

Wait, did I say that?

What follows next is my trip to the never-never land of blissful sex and personal empowerment. The Hunter changed my life.

Was it just luck? It’s hard to know. I’d like to think the Working Girl’s Fairy Godmother sent him to me. Whatever, I had a wild ride that night…learned a lot about myself and that you have to ask for what you want.

At work or in bed.

And so should you…

Breaking the Rules – it’s FREE from April 12-16, 2013.

MFRW Erotic Bloghop

And check out the fabulous blogs on theGet Lucky” Blog Hop from April 12-14, 2013

Posted on April 12, 2013, in Amazon, blog hop, erotic, erotic romance, Kindle, romance, Uncategorized, working girl and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 24 Comments.

  1. I love the graphic you’re using, Jina! Very cool. I’m also on the blog hop and just thought I’d come say hi. 🙂

    Love that you did a character interview.

    • Thanks for stopping by, Kaitlin! I’ll be sure to check out our Get Lucky Blog…I love the photos at Dreamstime.com — my favorite place to buy photo stock. I also bought the photo for Breaking the Rules there and used it to create the cover.

      There’s a little bit of Elaine, my character, in all of us…

  2. I love a sassy heroine.

  3. Thanks for being part of the hop… This sounds like a good read… I totally snagged it up. Thank you very much.

    j.m.platt83@gmail.com

  4. Great post. I love meeting characters, added your book to my kindle! happy hopping 🙂
    Gladiator’s Pen

    • Thanks, Elise, for adding my story to your Kindle. I had a blast letting Elaine have her say. She wants to spread the word that it is true: we have to ask for what we want!

  5. Can’t wait to find out more about the Hunter. I love Elaine’s attitude. She’s great,

    • Thank you, Anne! So far I have two erotic shorts about the Hunter — the second is: “Chloe gets caught in rain till the Hunter offers her shelter and shows her secret ritual of geisha in Nice Girls Do It http://amzn.to/tQcqOz

      These are erotic short stories — I hope to write a longer story about the Hunter and why he’s compelled to spend his billionaire fortune not just satisfying women sexually, but more importantly, satisfying that “something” that’s missing in their lives. With Elaine in “Breaking the Rules,” it’s not being about to ask for what she wants. With Chloe in “Nice Girls Do It,” it’s overcoming her fear of intimacy (she’s a virgin).

      Thanks for stopping by!

  6. Elaine is too much!
    Great excerpt 🙂

  7. Great post! Loved it!! Thanks for joining in the hop!
    Love your site 🙂
    Ashley A
    ash_app@hotmail.com

  8. Ooh, thanks for the treat this weekend, Jina! My Kindle’s happy, and so soon will I be 🙂

  9. Hi Jina:) Wow, Elaine, your story sounds pretty kick-ass…in fact, I went and got me a copy of your story. Got it read it for myself;) Happy Hopping Jina.

    • Hi, Kay — it’s a hot one-night-stand for Elaine! She goes places sexually she’s never been to before…Thanks for getting a copy!! I hope you enjoy it. Happy Hopping to you, too, Kay.

  10. Working Girl’s Fairy Godmother—delightful. 🙂 I love stories of self-empowerment and self-awareness. Thanks for sharing this!

    • Thanks, Emerald. Working girls need a Fairy Godmother more than most. I’ve been watching “Mr. Selfridge” on PBS and the story shows how difficult it was for working girls in 1908 London. We owe a lot to these early suffragettes.

  11. Great post, Jina. Love Elaine’s voice.

    • Thanks, Lyndi! Elaine tells it like it is. So often, we buy into the “good girl” syndrome that things will come to us if we’re good girls. Sometimes they do, but in this competitive world, it doesn’t always work out that way. What I wanted to show is that it doesn’t hurt to “ask” for what we deserve ’cause you never know until you do…

  12. Great excerpt, really like the sound of the story! And thanks for the freebie, I downloaded it 🙂

Leave a Reply

